Diigo- what is it, is it worth it?

March 1, 2008 casano85

First and foremost, I did not find Diigo to be a simple program to use. It took me about a week to figure it out and I had to contact Diigo over the phone and via e-mail.

For those of you unaware of what Diigo is, here is a definition I found on their website: “The social annotation service introduced by Diigo allows users to add highlights and sticky notes, in situ, on any web page they read. Imagine a giant transparency overlaying on top of all the web pages. Users can write on the transparency as they wish, as private notes or public comments. And they can read public comments on the transparency left by other readers of the same page, and hear their “two cents” and interact with them.”

Once I got it working, it wasn’t so bad. I enjoyed being able to read the feedback from my classmates. I also liked being able to post my own thoughts and/or questions. I still haven’t figured out the difference between a sticky note versus a bookmark and highlighting. For educational purposes it’s a great tool. If I were teaching high school level I would definitely have considered using this tool. As a future elementary school teacher I could use it with fellow co workers and articles I come across.

 

Diigo has yet to be widely publicized, but I think it will become more popular over time. Annotating in college is important and can be helpful to students in being able to read others thoughts or understanding of the material.

 

For those of you interested in Diigo, the website is: http://www.diigo.com/

 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts